Seeds of Change 2019 Highlights

crossroadsfund's picture

 Crossroads Fund staff Jeanne Kracher and Jane Kimondo accept their mugs! (credit: Sarah-Ji)


On behalf of Crossroads Fund board members and staff, thank you to our attendees, host committee, and sponsors for making our annual fundraiser a success!

Seeds of Change was a night of rejuvenation, community, and resistance. The Crossroads Fund annual benefit, held on Friday, April 5, convened a record number of supporters at the landmark Chicago Cultural Center. The event included a silent auction with over 150 items, food by Big Delicious Planet, and beer from Lagunitas Brewing Company.

Crossroads Fund Leadership Transition

Crossroads Fund Board co-Chairs, Sue Eleuterio and Gary Arnold, started the program by highlighting the organization's leadership transition. The Board recognized Jeanne Kracher for her 19 years of guiding the organization and Jane Kimondo, Crossroads Fund's future Executive Director, with a heartfelt coffee mug featuring their photo. Read more about Crossroads Fund's upcoming leadership transition here.

Campaign to End Money Bond

Chicago Community Bond Fund (CCBF) received the Donald F. Erickson Synapses Award for their leadership in fighting to end the use of money bond and pretrial incarceration in Illinois. Since 2015, CCBF has successfully organized to post more than $1 million to free over 200 people from jail or home confinement and their policy victories have resulted in over 10,000 fewer people being processed in the the Cook County Jail annually. CCBF Advocate Devoureaux Wolf accepted the award and gave recognition to the whole Chicago community for supporting the call to end the use of money bond.

Healing to Action Casts A Spell

Sheerine Alemzadeh and Patricia Pereda accepted the Lynda J. Tipton Memorial Award for Social Justice on behalf of Healing to Action. Patricia inspired and delighted the audience by casting the following "spell":

"I claim all the power of my liberation to learn to live without violence, pain, slavery, and ignorance. I appreciate and am grateful for being a Woman and I honor our mothers, ancestors whose spirits support, guide and sustain us. With this gift of power, I can begin to take action and be able to see the change in my generations and the results in our future. I plant the seed of love in order to rebuild my self-love and seek guidance to take action and in the process have a lot of patience with myself."

Patricia's words resonated on an evening where Crossroads Fund celebrated the dedicated work of Chicago's growing prison abolitionist and restorative justice movements.

Schools for Kids, Not for Cops!

The No Cop Academy Campaign accepted the Ron Sable Award for Activism for their organizing in responose to City Hall’s 2017 announcement to construct a $95 million police and fire training academy in West Garfield Park. The youth leaders guided the audience in a "mic check" call and response demanding that Chicago's elected officials invest in the city's youth of color rather than police. These fearless youth leaders brought the audience to their feet while adult allies distributed buttons and other items to everyone while chanting along. The No Cop Academy youth leaders' dynamic presence left an indelible mark on the Seeds of Change audience.

Thanks to our 2019 Seeds of Change Event Sponsors.

Chicago Community Bond Fund

Honoree Video

Chicago Community Bond Fund's Remarks at Seeds of Change 2019


Healing to Action

Honoree Video

Healing to Action's Remarks at Seeds of Change 2019



Honoree Video

No Cop Academy's Remarks at Seeds of Change 2019


(As of Friday, February 15)

Cook County State's Attorney Kimberly M. Foxx

State Representative Kelly Cassidy

State Representative Cristina Castro

State Representative Robyn Gabel

State Representative Will Guzzardi

Representative Greg Harris

Representative Theresa Mah

State Representative Aarón Ortiz

Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa

Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky

Alderman Scott Waguespack




(As of Tuesday, February 19)

La Tony Alvarado-Rivera

Emmanuel Andre*

Lourdes Arias

Molly Armour

Gary M. Arnold*

Deepa Arora

Angela Barnes & Sofia Anastopoulos

Becky Belcore & Chris Williams

Jim Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek

Mary Scott Boria

Laura Botwinick

Lara Brooks

Henry Cervantes*

Inhe Choi & Guy Ward

Ann Christophersen

Alice Cottingham

James Cusick & Megan Murray Cusick*

Shelley Davis & Omar McRoberts

Michelle Di Benedetto

Sue Eleuterio* & Tom Sourlis

Dale & Ruth Fast

Denise Ferguson*

Roxana Gonzalez*

Sharlyn Grace

Cristina Guerrero

Rhoda Rae Gutierrez & Jim Clark

Pat Handlin

Neena Hemmady & Amisha Patel

Brenda Hernandez

Janine L. Hoft* & Linda Wagner

Kim L. Hunt & Mary DeBacker

Kheira Issaoui-Mansouri*

Tim Jones-Yelvington

Susan Kaplan

Alice Kim

Danbee Kim

Julia Klein*

Nora Kyger*

Skyler Larrimore

Laura León

Rebecca Levin & Sophie Kaluziak

Sharmili Majmudar* & Laura Noah

Jordan Maze

Agnes Meneses*

Michelle Morales*

JoAnn & Cesareo Moreno

Mary F. Morten & Willa J. Taylor

Sheila O'Donnell & Nora Gallagher

Gina M. Olson & Amy Johnson

Alan Paberzs*

Christine Kim-Tai Plautz

Jon Quinn*

Barbara Ransby & Peter Sporn

Jessica Ratchford

Ireri Rivas*

Mony Ruiz-Velasco

Armando Israel Santana

Margie Schaps & Jack Doppelt

Bronwen Schumacher

Dick Simpson

Debbie Southorn

Kandace Thomas

Thelma Uranga-Baca

Ife Williams

Tom Wilson

Jaquelyn Zevin

*Also a Crossroads Fund Board Member


Leadership Circle: $7,500 and above

The Robert R. McCormick Foundation

Changemakers: $5,000 - $7,499

Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation

Resource Generation Chicago

Catalysts: $2,500 – $4,999

Susan Eleuterio & Tom Sourlis

Janine Hoft & Linda Wagner

Irving Harris Foundation

People’s Law Office

The Pierce Family Charitable Foundation

Visionaries: $1,000 – $2,499

David Abbene & Geri Gibbs

Kay Berkson & Sidney Hollander

John A. D’Emilio

Bob Horton & Jim Perry

Jeanne Kracher & Laura McAlpine

Jonathan Lehman &  Zach Huelsing

McAlpine Consulting for Growth

Movers & Shakers: $750 – $999

Samantha Asofsky

The Center for the Study of Race, Politics, and Culture at the University of Chicago

David de Vries

James & Janet Fennerty

Esther Nieves

Third Wave Fund

Stewards: $500-$749

Bridget Arimond & Bruce Scheff

Mollie Anderson

Gary Arnold

Margot Babington

Angela Barnes

Becky Belcore & Christopher Williams

Jana Belsky & Tom Trauger

James Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek

Martha Biondi

Stephen & Holly Babington

Ann Christophersen & Amy Blumenthal

Shelley Davis & Omar McRoberts

Jeff Edwards

Joshua Gilmore

Neena Hemmady & Amisha Patel

Tim Jones-Yelvington

Catherine Kallal & Maurice Lemon

Alice Kim

John & Susan Kim

Julia Klein

Skyler Larrimore & Felipe Diaz-Arango

Joey Mogul & Andrea Ritchie

Mary Morten & Willa Taylor

National Boricua Human Rights Network

Barbara Phillips

Gordon Quinn

Jon Quinn

Arlene Rodriguez

Carleen Schreder & Ralph Musicant

Eileen Willenborg & Jane Melnick

Sponsors: $250 – $499

John Bartlett

Megan Carney

Alice Cottingham

Mark & Sandy Ehlert

Sunny Fischer

State Representative Robyn Gabel

Monica George

Illinois Immigration Funders Collaborative

Nora Kyger

Sharmili Majmudar

Peter Orris

Melinda Power

Mony Ruiz-Velasco

Hollis Russinof and Michael Leff

Evelyn Salk

Dick Simpson

Mairita Smiltars

Tom Wilson