Seeds of Change 2019


Friday, April 05 2019 - 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm


Chicago Cultural Center, Preston Bradley Hall, 78 East Washington Street

Join grantees, board members, and friends of the CROSSROADS FUND

As we celebrate at our Annual Benefit


Friday, April 5, 2019

At the Chicago Cultural Center

Preston Bradley Hall

78 East Washington Street

Chicago, Illinois


Schedule of Events:

5:30 p.m. Reception:

Performance by Music Department students from The Chicago Academy for the Arts, silent auction, buffet dinner, and open bar

7:30 p.m. Awards Presentation

Music by DJ L O Kari

9:30 p.m.  Event Concludes

For more information, please contact Emmanuel Garcia at 773.227.7676 or


**Online ticket sales ended Thursday, April 4th, at midnight.**

Tickets are available for purchase at the door: Chicago Cultural Center, 78 E. Washington Street.

We accept cash, personal checks, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and American Express.

If you cannot attend, please consider making a donation to ensure our 2019 fundraiser is a success!



Join us in celebrating our unapologetic 2019 honorees who are fearless in the face of injustice!




#NoCopAcademy (NCA) formed in response to City Hall’s 2017 announcement to construct a $95 million police and fire training academy in West Garfield Park. The youth-directed, adult-supported campaign is demanding the redirection of funds away from a system that inflicts violence towards the revitalization of Chicago’s most marginalized communities. NCA is fearlessly organizing protests at City Council meetings, educating Chicagoans about the high cost of policing, and calling attention to the lack of investment in Black and brown communities. By building a campaign of over 85 endorsing organizations, NCA has galvanized Chicago to call for expanded resources for communities rather than criminalization.



Chicago Community Bond Fund

Chicago Community Bond Fund (CCBF) fights to end the use of money bond, which disproportionately impacts people of color and the poor. They have successfully organized to post more than $1 million to free over 190 people from jail or home confinement since 2015.  CCBF educates the public about the role of money bond in the criminal legal system and is guiding a campaign that advocates for the abolition of money bond in Illinois. Thanks to CCBF and their partners, the number of people held in cages at Cook County Jail is the lowest it has been since the late 1980s.



Healing to Action

Healing to Action (HTA) centers workers who have experienced violence as the experts needed to transform their communities and end gender-based violence in Chicago. Since 2016, HTA has organized and trained over 500 workers in developing and implementing creative, community-based responses grounded in their lived experiences. Many of these workers are now leading the Coalition Against Workplace Sexual Violence, a cross-movement collaboration between Chicago’s labor and anti-violence movements. HTA has partnered with 30 organizations, including legal aid organizations, rape crisis centers, and labor rights groups, to push for policy changes like the 2016 passage of the Illinois Domestic Worker Bill of Rights.



(As of Friday, February 15)

Cook County State's Attorney Kimberly M. Foxx

State Representative Kelly Cassidy

State Representative Cristina Castro

State Representative Robyn Gabel

State Representative Will Guzzardi

Representative Greg Harris

Representative Theresa Mah

State Representative Aarón Ortiz

Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa

Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky

Alderman Scott Waguespack





(As of Tuesday, February 19)

La Tony Alvarado-Rivera

Emmanuel Andre*

Lourdes Arias

Molly Armour

Gary M. Arnold*

Deepa Arora

Angela Barnes & Sofia Anastopoulos

Becky Belcore & Chris Williams

Jim Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek

Mary Scott Boria

Laura Botwinick

Lara Brooks

Henry Cervantes*

Inhe Choi & Guy Ward

Ann Christophersen

Alice Cottingham

James Cusick & Megan Murray Cusick*

Shelley Davis & Omar McRoberts

Michelle Di Benedetto

Sue Eleuterio* & Tom Sourlis

Dale & Ruth Fast

Denise Ferguson*

Roxana Gonzalez*

Sharlyn Grace

Cristina Guerrero

Rhoda Rae Gutierrez & Jim Clark

Pat Handlin

Neena Hemmady & Amisha Patel

Brenda Hernandez

Janine L. Hoft* & Linda Wagner

Kim L. Hunt & Mary DeBacker

Kheira Issaoui-Mansouri*

Tim Jones-Yelvington

Susan Kaplan

Alice Kim

Danbee Kim

Julia Klein*

Nora Kyger*

Skyler Larrimore

Laura León

Rebecca Levin & Sophie Kaluziak

Sharmili Majmudar* & Laura Noah

Jordan Maze

Agnes Meneses*

Michelle Morales*

JoAnn & Cesareo Moreno

Mary F. Morten & Willa J. Taylor

Sheila O'Donnell & Nora Gallagher

Gina M. Olson & Amy Johnson

Alan Paberzs*

Christine Kim-Tai Plautz

Jon Quinn*

Barbara Ransby & Peter Sporn

Jessica Ratchford

Ireri Rivas*

Mony Ruiz-Velasco

Armando Israel Santana

Margie Schaps & Jack Doppelt

Bronwen Schumacher

Dick Simpson

Debbie Southorn

Kandace Thomas

Thelma Uranga-Baca

Ife Williams

Tom Wilson

Jaquelyn Zevin

*Also a Crossroads Fund Board Member


Leadership Circle: $7,500 and above

The Robert R. McCormick Foundation

Changemakers: $5,000 - $7,499

Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation

Resource Generation Chicago

Catalysts: $2,500 – $4,999

Susan Eleuterio & Tom Sourlis

Janine Hoft & Linda Wagner

Irving Harris Foundation

People’s Law Office

The Pierce Family Charitable Foundation

Visionaries: $1,000 – $2,499

David Abbene & Geri Gibbs

Kay Berkson & Sidney Hollander

John A. D’Emilio

Bob Horton & Jim Perry

Jeanne Kracher & Laura McAlpine

Jonathan Lehman &  Zach Huelsing

McAlpine Consulting for Growth

Movers & Shakers: $750 – $999

Samantha Asofsky

The Center for the Study of Race, Politics, and Culture at the University of Chicago

David de Vries

James & Janet Fennerty

Esther Nieves

Third Wave Fund

Stewards: $500-$749

Bridget Arimond & Bruce Scheff

Mollie Anderson

Gary Arnold

Margot Babington

Angela Barnes

Becky Belcore & Christopher Williams

Jana Belsky & Tom Trauger

James Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek

Martha Biondi

Stephen & Holly Babington

Ann Christophersen & Amy Blumenthal

Shelley Davis & Omar McRoberts

Jeff Edwards

Joshua Gilmore

Neena Hemmady & Amisha Patel

Tim Jones-Yelvington

Catherine Kallal & Maurice Lemon

Alice Kim

John & Susan Kim

Julia Klein

Skyler Larrimore & Felipe Diaz-Arango

Joey Mogul & Andrea Ritchie

Mary Morten & Willa Taylor

National Boricua Human Rights Network

Barbara Phillips

Gordon Quinn

Jon Quinn

Arlene Rodriguez

Carleen Schreder & Ralph Musicant

Eileen Willenborg & Jane Melnick

Sponsors: $250 – $499

John Bartlett

Megan Carney

Alice Cottingham

Mark & Sandy Ehlert

Sunny Fischer

State Representative Robyn Gabel

Monica George

Illinois Immigration Funders Collaborative

Nora Kyger

Sharmili Majmudar

Peter Orris

Melinda Power

Mony Ruiz-Velasco

Hollis Russinof and Michael Leff

Evelyn Salk

Dick Simpson

Mairita Smiltars

Tom Wilson