Seeds of Change 2018


Friday, April 06 2018 - 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm


Chicago Cultural Center, GAR Hall (77 East Randolph Street)

Join grantees, board members, and friends of the CROSSROADS FUND

As we celebrate at our Annual Benefit




Friday, April 6, 2018


At the Chicago Cultural Center

GAR Hall

77 East Randolph Street

Chicago, Illinois




Join us in celebrating our unapologetic 2018 honorees who are fearless in the face of injustice!


PASO – West Suburban Action Project

PASO’s organizing has deeply impacted the lives of immigrants all over Illinois. From their victories in passing some of the strongest Sanctuary City Ordinances in the country in places like Oak Park, Summit, and Berwyn; their leadership in passing the Trust Act, which limits the cooperation between police and immigration enforcement; and their daily work fighting deportations, supporting workers, and building strong schools, they show us what is possible when communities unite and demand justice.



Chicago Torture Justice Campaign

For over 30 years, survivors, family members, attorneys, activists, and organizers have struggled to obtain justice and redress for the 120 African-American men and women subjected to racially-motivated torture under notorious Chicago Police Commander Jon Burge from 1972 to 1991. In 2015, in response to an ordinance filed by Chicago Torture Justice Memorials, decades of grassroots struggle, and a concerted multi-racial, intergenerational effort, the city of Chicago passed the Reparations Ordinance, making Chicago the first municipality in the history of the US to provide reparations for racially motivated police violence. The ordinance includes creating a permanent public memorial, the development and implementation of a Curriculum on Police Torture and Reparations for all 8th and 12th grade CPS classrooms, and the creation of a physical space for healing at the Chicago Torture Justice Center.



Chicago Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) History Project

Fannie Rushing and Sylvia Fischer played a key role in working locally to dismantle segregation in housing, employment, and education during the Civil Rights Movement. They were an integral part in the organizing of the famous 1963 citywide school boycott of Chicago Public Schools, which mobilized more than 250,000 students to protest against the overcrowded, inferior, and segregated public school system. Chicago SNCC’s work later morphed into the Chicago SNCC History Project, which documents and preserves the powerful stories of Civil Rights organizing, thus ensuring that future generations have the opportunity to learn from and be inspired by this rich history and draw connections to the present.


State Senator Daniel Biss

State Representative Kelly Cassidy

Senator Cristina Castro

State Representative Sara Feigenholtz

Cook County State's Attorney Kimberly M. Foxx

State Representative Robyn Gabel

Cook County Commissioner Jesús "Chuy" García

Alderman Susan Sadlowski Garza

State Representative Theresa Mah

Cook County Clerk David Orr

Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa

Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky

State Representative Juliana Stratton


(as of 2/1/2018)


Ali Abunimah, Tony Alvarado-Rivera,

Sara Spoonheim Amit & Yali Amit, Lourdes Arias,

Molly Armour, Gary M. Arnold*,

Kay Berkson & Sidney Hollander, Katie Blanchard,

Jen Brown & Pamela G. Hewett, Henry Cervantes*,

Inhe Choi & Guy Ward, Ann Christophersen,

Cathy J. Cohen & Beth E. Richie, Alice Cottingham,

Megan Murray Cusick* & James Cusick,

Susan Eleuterio* & Tom Sourlis, Ruth & Dale Fast,

Denise Ferguson*, Claire Gaiefsky,

Lizette Garza, Roxana Gonzalez*, Sharlyn Grace,

Jody Gray, Rhoda Rae Gutierrez & Jim Clark,

Pat Handlin, Neena Hemmady & Amisha Patel,

Janine L. Hoft* & Linda Wagner,

Robert Horton & James Perry, Grace Hou,

Kheira Issaoui-Mansouri*, Tim Jones-Yelvington,

Susan Kaplan & Len Cavise,

Barbara Kemmis & Gina Medalle,

Julia Klein*, Nora Kyger*,

Skyler Larrimore, Laura León,

Amanda Lewis & Tyrone Forman,

Sharmili Majmudar* & Laura Noah,

Laura McAlpine, Omar McRoberts & Shelley Davis,

Chirag Mehta & Rebecca Burwell, Lynn Meissner,

Agnes Meneses*, JoAnn & Cesareo Moreno,

Mary F. Morten & Willa J. Taylor, Nancy Fleck Myers,

Rosa Navarro, Mona Noriega & Evette Cardona,

Gina M. Olson & Amy Johnson, Alan Paberzs*,

Barbara Y. Phillips, Lisa Marie Pickens & Rima Malhotra,

Christine K. Plautz, Shericka Pringle, Jon Quinn,

Barbara Ransby & Peter Sporn, Alexia Rice-Henry*,

Ireri Rivas, Alma Rodriguez, Steven Saltzman,

Margie Schaps & Jack Doppelt, Dick Simpson,

Padraic Stanley, Laura Stempel, Max Suchan,

Thelma Uranga, Frederick Wells, Tom Wilson, Jaquelyn Zevin


*Also a Crossroads Fund Board Member






Changemakers: $5,000 and above

Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation

The Robert R. McCormick Foundation

Resource Generation Chicago


Catalysts: $2,500 – 4,999

Irving Harris Foundation

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

The Pierce Family Charitable Foundation

Polk Bros. Foundation


Visionaries: $1,000 – 2,499

Kay Berkson & Sidney Hollander

John A. D’Emilio

Jani Hoft & Linda Wagner

Zach Huelsing & Jon Lehman 

Catherine Kallal & Maurice Lemon

Barbara Kemmis & Gina Medalle

Jeanne Kracher & Laura McAlpine

Paul Lehman & Ronna Stamm

MB Financial

McAlpine Consulting for Growth

Nancy Fleck Myers

People’s Law Office


Movers & Shakers: $750 – 999

Susan Eleuterio & Tom Sourlis

Joey Mogul & Andrea Ritchie

Gordon Quinn

Third Wave Fund

Woods Fund of Chicago


Stewards: $500-749

Bridget Arimond & Bruce Scheff

Lucy & Peter Ascoli

Martha Biondi

Ann Christophersen

Alice Cottingham

Barbara Engel

Equality Illinois Institute

E. Garnet Fay

Josh Gilmore

Robert Horton & James Perry

Judith Kenney

Skyler Larrimore

Ann Logue

Sheila McAnanly

Omar McRoberts & Shelley Davis

Chirag Mehta & Rebecca Burwell

Lisa Marie Pickens & Rima Malhotra

Leslie Ramyk

Barbara Ransby & Peter Sporn

Arlene Rodriguez

Eileen Willenborg & Jane Melnick


Sponsors: $250 – 499

David Abbene & Geri Gibbs

Gary and Katie Arnold

John Bartlett

Jim Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek

Wendy W. Brown MD, MPH

Libby & Jeff Frank

Rep. Robyn Gabel

Joseph Grant

Beverly Groudine

Kheira Issaoui-Mansouri

Julia Klein

Nora Kyger

Tuyet Le

Sharmili Majmudar

Mary Morten & Willa Taylor

Susan Nussbaum

Denise Poloyac

Carleen Schreder & Ralph Musicant

Dick Simpson

Max Suchan

Mike Tomas

Tom Wilson


Crossroads Fund is a public foundation that supports community organizations working on issues of racial, social, and economic justice in the Chicago area.